The Tori West interview

Are you ready for this interview? 

Hey Tori, thanks for letting me interview you. Can you tell readers who you are and what you do Hey love! My name is Tori, and I’m an editor/publisher/journalist from Wales currently living in London. I started self-publishing BRICKS magazine when I graduated three years ago, I also make zines and moan ( a lot) about the current political landscape and the lack of women’s rights on Instagram. 

What does success mean to you? When you finally feel fulfilled.  

What is the first thing you do every morning? Make a coffee for my boyfriend and me. 

Did you always want to be a writer and editor AND defender of women's rights? Believe it or not, I wasn’t all that vocal growing up; I found it really difficult to articulate my thoughts and feelings. I actually only started writing cause I felt so self-conscious about how bad I was at it. I went to a Welsh speaking school, and I was predicted an E in my English GCSEs. When I felt confident enough about my writing (although I’d still say I’m pretty crap) I decided to use my platforms to give other women a chance, inspire them to put their feelings on paper and share it to the world. There’s something empowering about sharing your inner thoughts to the world, if you’re self-conscious, it can be a real confidence booster. 

What does a working day look like for you? I’m really grateful that my working day is so varied. I spend most of my time researching, commissioning articles, coming up with social strategies for the content we publish online and write articles. I write for other publications too, do all the admin for BRICKS, go to networking events, have client meetings, make zines and I occasionally lecture and host talks in my hometown called Publish Cardiff.

What advice would you give to young creatives or start-ups? Not to worry about the pace you're working. I think when you hit a certain age, you unnecessarily compare yourself to what point you should be at in your career or compare it to someone else's. But it doesn't work like that; everyone is different, we all work at a different pace. 

Where is your happy place? Caerphilly castle. 

Describe yourself in 3 words: Welsh feminist witch. 

What or who is your biggest influence right now? I just finished up a zine after months of research on phenomenal Welsh women that time has forgotten for International Women's Day and St.Davids day. I feel like it's something I want to delve deeper into. I think it's important to not forget the women who helped shape our lives today. 

What do you think the importance of sisterhood is? Finding a group of women that want each other to do well isn't something everyone has the privilege of having. While growing up, I found it really difficult to connect with girls in school, so I hung out with the boys instead. Now, having this fantastic female-identifying support system has really kept me mentally stable, inspired and motivates me to do everything I do. 

If you had to choose a different career what would it be? (I'd start a business selling rugs) I'd love to open a bookshop cafe in Margate with my boyfriend. We'll get there...

Where would you like to be in 2 years time? Exactly where I am now, but with a dog.